Akwa Ibom State University – What you need to Know

Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU) was conceived and funded by the Akwa Ibom State Government. Unity of people with a passion to constantly seek knowledge that addresses practical issues of development in Nigeria. The university opened its doors to its pioneer students in the 2010/2011 academic year.

At conception, the university was to be located within Akwa Ibom State’s Technology Triangle at th University Town. However, the administration of the Akwa Ibom State Government have changed the enabling law of the university into a multi-campus institution with the main campus at Ikot Akpaden, Mkpat Enin L.G.A and a second campus situated at Obio Akpa, Oruk Anam L.G.A.[1] The goals of the university have been modified by the administration of the State Government in order to transform the university into a conventional university whose focus is not just Technology and Applied Science but also Arts. In line with this transformation, the name of the institution has been changed from Akwa Ibom State University of Technology(AKUTECH) to Akwa Ibom State University (AKSU).

On October 18, 2000, at Uyo, Akwa Ibom State, Nigeria, the Executive Governor of Akwa Ibom State at the time, Arc (Obong) Victor Attah inaugurated a committee for the establishment of Akwa Ibom State University of Technology.

The committee was made up of Professor Ephraim E. Okon, Professor Ekong E. Ekong, Professor Ulo K. Enyenihi, Professor Reuben K. Udo, Professor E. W. Mbipom, Engr. Mrs. Mayen Adetiba, Engr. Esio O. Mboho, Engr. Akpan U. Ukpoho, Engr. Uyai Ekaette, Dr. Usen J. Antia, Sir Pius Wilson, Dr. Engineer Linus Asuquo, Mr. Moses Essien, Dr. Ini Udoka, Professor Joe Uyanga and Mr. E. J. Akpan. The University opened its doors to its pioneer students in the 2010/2011 academic year.

There was a mandate to establish AKUTECH, a project which has been embraced by the former Executive Governor of Akwa Ibom State, Obong (Barr) Godswill Akpabio leading to the enactment of the University Law on September 15, 2009 by the Akwa Ibom State House of Assembly.

Faculty of Engineering
Departments; Chemical Engineering, Mechanical engineering, Civil Engineering, Marine/Naval Architecture Engineering, Agricultural Engineering. Electrical/Electronic engineering.

Faculty of Natural and Applied Sciences
Departments; Computer Science, Mathematics and statistics, Mathematics Science, Physics Science, Chemistry Science, Geology. Biological Sciences; Botany, Zoology, Genetics and Biotechnology, Microbiology, Biological Science.

Faculty of Education
Mathematics Education, Chemistry Education, Biology Education, Integrated Science Education, Physics Education.

Faculty of Agriculture
Agricultural Economic and Extension, Soil Science, Crop Science, Animal Science.

Faculty of Social and Management Sciences
Business Administration, Accounting, Business Management, Political Science.

Faculty of Arts
English and Literary Studies, Religious and International Studies, Performing Arts.

For more information on AKSU Visit http://www.aksu.edu.ng/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *