Ballon D’or 2016: Cristiano Ronaldo Wins Award For 4th Time

Legendary forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the 2016 Ballon D’Or award, his fourth time of winning the award.

Ronaldo led Real Madrid to a record 11th UEFA Champions League title in May, before carrying Portugal to an historic UEFA Euro success weeks later. He had previously won the award in 2008, 2013 and 2014.

The 31-year old also had a phenomenal year stats wise, scoring 51 goals in 54 games for club and country in 2016.

“It is a special moment. It means that all my sacrifice was worth it. I feel very happy to win this. I worked very hard,” Ronaldo said in accepting the award.

ALSO: All The Best Memes From Cristiano Ronaldo’s New Celebration

“A lot of people helped me get here, and it is not easy to get here. You can count on one hand players who maintain this level year after year. I am one of them, and that is a source of pride for me.”

He beat 5-time Ballon D’or winner, Barcelona’s Lionel Messi and Atletico Madrid’s Antoine Griezmann to win the award.

With the Ballon D’Or once again separate from the FIFA World Player of the Year award, Ronaldo is expected to win that award when it is announced on January 9. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *