VC On Course To Making University Of Ghana A ‘Go To University’- GRASAG-Legon President

The President of the Graduate Students’ Association of Ghana (GRASAG)-University of Ghana, Mr Nana Kwame Asafo-Adjei Ayeh has commended the Vice Chancellor’s initiative to set up strategic teams to advance his vision of positioning University of Ghana as a world class “go to University”.

The Vice Chancellor of the University, Professor Ebenezer Oduro Owusu inaugurated on 3rd November, 2016 eight strategic teams tasked with the responsibility of developing strategies and roadmap for the realization of the ‘go to University’ vision.

In an exclusive interview with, Mr Asafo-Adjei said the idea alone to have strategic teams is a giant step towards good leadership and “I need to commend the Vice Chancellor for such initiative; such idea; such vision”.

He also commended the VC’s all inclusive approach to leadership saying everyone has been put to task and given something to do so that they will all bring on board ideas and experiences they have acquired by virtue of whatever they have done in the past somewhere or in their line of occupation in order to achieve this vision.

He observed some level of consistency in the VC’s commitment to this vision and noted that he is on course to achieving his vision for the university.

“We have met on several platforms; on Council meeting where he had the opportunity again to present his vision, we met again at his induction where he had to tell the whole world what he has to do, and aligning those ones to the Strategic teams inauguration, I think the man is really on course.

“All the things that he said were the things that he said in his selection process, outlined in his induction, outlined in his address to Council, and again you can see some level of consistency,” he stated.

He is confident that the teams made up of highly qualified members will deliver on their respective mandates to collectively position University of Ghana as a ‘go to University’ with the necessary support from students, student leaders, staff and other stakeholders.

Below are the Nine Strategic Teams and members:

Institutional Advancement Team

Professor Yaa Ntiamoa-Baidu (CHAIR)

Professor Felix Asante (Director, ISSER)

Professor Robert Hinson (UGBS)

Professor Samuel Agyei-Mensah (Provost- College Of Humanities)

Professor Joshua Abor (Dean UGBS)

Professor Sefa-Dedeh (School Engineering Sciences)

Professor Mate-Kole (Dept. of Psychology)

Professor Benjamin Ahunu (Dept. of Animal Science)

Stella A. Amao (Director of Public Affairs)

Paa Kwesi Yankey ( Chairman, UG Alumni Association)

Kweku Mensa-Bonsu (Frmr. Chairman Alumni Association)

Committee To Review of 4 Years Undergraduate Programme and Grading System (**pending)

Professor Ivan Addae-Mensah (CHAIR)

Professor J.S Djangmah

Professor K. Osam

Professor D.K Asiedu

Professor J.K.A Amuzu

Professor Jonathan Fletcher

University of Ghana Regional/ World Ranking

Professor Chris Gordon (CHAIR)

Dr. John Effah (Ag. Director, IRPO)

Professor Robert Hinson (UGBS)

Mrs. Stella Amoa (Director of Public Affairs)

Mr. Lucas Chigabatia (CITO, UGBS)

Professor Ama de Graft Aikins ( Dean, IPO)

Dr. Godfred Mills

Professor Esther Sakyi-Dawson (Director AQAU)

Professor Perpetua Dadzie (University Librarian)

Professor Andrew- Adjei (Ag. Director ORID)

Professor Kodzo Gavua (Dean, School of Arts)

Mr. Alfred Quartey (UGCS)

Agricultural Centers Commercialization Committee

Dr. P.A Kurancie (CHAIR)

Dr. Jojo Baidu- Forson

Professor K. Afreh- Nuamah

Professor George Oduro Nkansah

Professor Kojo Addae-Mensah (Databank)

Dr. Samuel Dartey Baah (UGBS)

Mr. R. Boapea (Director Of Finance)

Professor D.K. Asiedu (Provost CBAS)

Dr. S Abenney- Mickson

Professor J. Ofosu- Anim (Dean, School Of Agriculture)

Professor Eric Danquah (Director WACCI)

Dr. Joris Gerald Nii Lante Amissah (Dept. Family & Consumer Sciences)

Mr. Emmanuel Baidoo (College Secretary CBAS)

A commercial Farmer (yet to be named)

Independent Power Supply Team

Professor B. Onwona-Agyeman (CHAIR)

Professor Nii Addy Cudjoe (RIPS)

Professor Thomas Akabzaa

Professor Atta-Peters

Professor Kwadwo Koram (Director, NMIMR)

Dr. Ebenezer Owusu (Dept. of Botany)

Mr. Charles Kofinti (Ag. Director PDMSD)

Mr. Ebenezer Baiden (ECG Representative)

Mr. Robert Dwamena (MD ECG)

Mr. Daniel O. Baidoo (Director HRODD)

Representative from Japan International Cooperation Agency (JICA)

Medical/Dentistry School Expansion Team

Professor Yao Tettey (CHAIR)

Professor F. Ayeh-Kumi (Provost CHS)

Professor Margaret Lartey (Dean School of Medicine and Dentistry)

Professor Jennifer Welbeck (School of Medicine and Dentistry)

Dr. Davis Adzedze (Mary Lucy Hospital)

Dr. J.B Wilson

Professor Matilda Steiner Asiedu (Dean, SBS)

Professor Charity Akotia (Dean School of Social Sciences)

Mr M. Opare-Atuah (College Secretary CHS)

Director- General, Ghana Health Service

University of Ghana Rebranding & Marketing

Professor Robert Hinson (CHAIR)

Mrs. Stella A. Amoa (Director of Public Affairs)

Professor Audrey Gadzekpo (School Of Communication & Information Stds)

Professor Margaret Amoakohene (School Of Communication & Information Stds)

Dr. Erasmus Owusu

Mrs. Christy O. Badu

Professor Chris Gordon (Director, IESS)

Dr. E.A Ofosu-Mensah (Dept. of History)

Dr. Ernest Twenneboa-Koduah (Head Of Marketing, UGBS)

Mr. Steve Eshun (General Manager, Sunny FM)

Laboratory Modernization Team

Professor Daniel K. Asiedu (CHAIR)

Professor P.F Ayeh-Kumi (Provost CHS)

Professor E.Y Danquah (Director, WACCI)

Professor Gordon Awandare (Head Dept. BMS)

Professor Julius Fobil (SPH)

Professor Godfred Bopkin (UGBS)

Professor Robert Adaboh (Ag. Dean SPMS)

Mr. Charles Kofinti (Ag. Director PDMSD)

Vice-Chancellor’s Green Team

Dr. Benjamin Ofori (Co-Chair)

Professor I.K Asante (Co-Chair)

Dr. Winfred S.K. Gbewonyo (Dept. Biochemistry)

Professor P. F Ayeh-Kumi (Provost CHS)

Mr. Steve Eshun (General Manager, Sunny FM)

Dr. Daniel McKorley (CEO McDan Group of Companies)

Professor Matilda Steiner-Asiedu (Dean SBS)

Dr. Bella Bello Bitugu (Director of Sports)

Director of PDMSD

Rep of University Teachers Association Ghana (UTAG)

Rep of Federation of Universities Senior Staff Association of Ghana (FUSSAG)

Rep of Teachers and Educational Workers’ Union (TEWU)

Rep of Ghana Association of University Administrators (GAUA)

Rep of University of Ghana Students’ Representative Council (UG-SRC)

Rep of Graduates Students Association of Ghana (GRASSAG)

Green Grass Technology

Pine Springs Company Limited

Zoomlion Company Limited

Dean Of Student Affairs

Rep of all Banks on campus

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *